Oh what a week! – An insight from new recruit, Sarah Jordan

It’s been a whirlwind for Sarah Jordan, 26, since starting with The Bayford Foundation as a data cleanser. Despite that, she was able to spare us five minutes to talk about her first week.

How did you come to be employed by the Foundation?

The Job Centre introduced me. I had an interview with Nick Elletson, which was very enjoyable and was offered a job.

What is your background?

Born and bred in Leeds, I left school in 2007 after my GCSEs and went on to work in call centres and sales departments. I am now a single parent, with a little girl of seven.

What appealed to you about working with the Foundation?

I was impressed that Nick had taken the time to research me thoroughly before interview, which underlines the company’s professional approach to recruiting and developing staff. Beyond that, being able to work around school hours is a great benefit – other employment prospects were far less flexible.

What did you learn in your first week?

After researching the fuel cards sector, we quickly moved on to acquiring telephone and IT skills. I’m now a lot better with computers than I was – I didn’t have a clue beforehand and it has boosted my confidence being able to do so much more than I could.

What did you find most interesting and enjoyable?

How friendly and relaxed the atmosphere is. Nick Elletson and Chantelle Robinson are fantastic trainers – and skill people up without pressurising them. They constantly reassure you that you can do a task – and it turns out that they’re right!

The wider working environment is friendly, fun and inclusive – and all the experienced colleagues help with any problem and pitch in with tips on how to do things better.

What did you find most challenging?

Calling customers for the first time made me nervous, but my self-assurance had already been raised by Nick and Chantelle and I knew I could do it well, with a little practice.

How helpful have the team been in helping you to settle in?

They have been very encouraging. Not only is the formal training first class, but the support network of the wider group really makes everything far less daunting for a new starter.

What are you looking forward to learning about?

Now that my potential has been revealed, I want to develop a sales career.

For more information on The Bayford Foundation and job opportunities available, visit www.bayfordfoundation.co.uk or call 0113 202 5129.

Leave a comment